NRH Board of Directors Elects 2020 Officers

NIAGARA REGIONJanuary 27, 2020 – At their January 17 meeting, the Niagara Regional Housing (NRH) Board of Directors elected their 2020 Officers:

  • Chair – Mayor Walter Sendzik (Regional Councillor, St. Catharines). Mayor Sendzik is serving his second term on both Regional Council and the NRH Board in his capacity as mayor of the City of St. Catharines.
  • Vice-Chair – James Hyatt (Community Director, St. Catharines). Mr. Hyatt has been on the NRH Board since 2014. He is a retired military pilot and aviation management consultant.
  • Secretary – Karen Blackley (Community Director, Thorold). Ms. Blackley has been on the NRH Board since 2010. She is a local Real Estate Broker and Housing Liaison for the Thorold Age-Friendly Committee.
  • Treasurer – Gary Zalepa (Regional Councillor, Niagara-on-the-Lake). Councillor Zalepa joined the NRH Board in 2019. He is serving his first term on Regional Council and the NRH Board.

The NRH Board is comprised of five Regional Councillors and four Community Directors. Also on the Board are Betty Ann Baker (St. Catharines), Barbara Butters (Port Colborne), Tom Insinna (Fort Erie), Betty Lou Souter (St. Catharines) and Leanna Villella (Welland).


"The 2020 Officers on NRH’s Board of Directors are very familiar with the challenges surrounding affordable housing in Niagara. I am confident that they will continue to provide excellent leadership and be a tremendous asset to our organization."
~ NRH CEO Donna Woiceshyn

"As Board Chair, I am looking forward to working with fellow Board members to enable NRH in moving forward on initiatives to build more housing, communities and opportunities for Niagara residents. NRH's expertise and experience coupled with innovative approaches will help us increase partnerships and find new ways or ideas to accelerate housing."
~ St. Catharines Mayor and NRH Board Chair Walter Sendzik

Donna Woiceshyn
Chief Executive Officer, NRH
905-682-9201, ext. 3900

Mayor Walter Sendzik
Board Chair, NRH
905-688-5601, ext. 1542

Was this page helpful?

© Niagara Regional Housing